RSS

A Madness of Angels, Kate Griffen, 2010

26 Feb

I liked it.  If I were one to give stars – I’d give it a 3.5 or a 4 of 5.

A Madness of Angels is good urban fantasy, set in London.  The hero, Matthew, is a very competent urban sorcerer who is very surprised to wake up in his bedroom – because he is sure he is dead, murdered 2 years ago.  But, it turns out Resurrection has also fused him with a magical entity ripped from the phone lines called the Blue Electric Angels.  The hows and whys of his murder and Resurrection are a mystery, and Matthew sets out for answers and revenge.

madness of angels

I feel that Griffen’s setting and magical theory is complete and well thought-out, with an extensive magical community living among the regular folk in a big city. In Matthew’s case, he has a natural ability to draw power from the patterns and rhythms of the city and has a particular way with electricity (as a result of his merging with the angels). Other members of the magical community can bend space to travel great distances very quickly, or shapeshift or cast spells, demons can be summoned,  zombies can be created and controlled.

I only take stars off my score for the writing style. For me, it is very dense and overly descriptive. In a couple of spots, I actually jumped ahead a couple of pages. Griffen uses the first person voice quite effectively, but I  found it hard to connect with Matthew.  

However, I very much like the fact that this book came to a satisfying end, and didn’t leave me hanging off a cliff.  Cliffhangers drive me crazy, as I usually can’t get my hands on the next book right away.

I’ll certainly look for the next book in this series.  I expect some of Matthew’s internal conflict will have abated and we will be able to see more confident power from him and see more of this magical world. 

 

 

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 26, 2013 in Fantasy

 

One response to “A Madness of Angels, Kate Griffen, 2010

  1. dvdiva

    February 26, 2013 at 6:56 pm

    Sounds like a good read Lesley. The overly descriptive prose is something I struggle with (or rather skip through) as well. Will have to mention this title to Greg.

     

Leave a Reply

 
What is Ann Watching?

Musings on TV and Movies